CPA Exam’s top scorers earn Elijah Watt Sells Award

By Neil Amato

Fifty-seven CPA candidates received the AICPA's 2021 Elijah Watt Sells Award, which was established nearly 100 years ago to recognize outstanding performance on the CPA Exam. To qualify, winners must obtain a cumulative average score above 95.5 across all four sections of the Uniform CPA Examination, pass all four sections on their first attempt, and have completed testing in 2021.

Sells, one of the first CPAs in the United States, was active in the establishment of the AICPA and played a key role in advancing professional education within the profession. The award was established in 1923.

More than 72,000 individuals sat for the exam in 2021.

A list of winners can be found by clicking here.

— To comment on this article or to suggest an idea for another article, contact Neil Amato at

Where to find July’s flipbook issue

The Journal of Accountancy is now completely digital. 





Better decision-making with data analytics

Data analytics has become a hot topic, but many organizations have not yet managed to understand its potential, let alone put it to work. This report will take a deep-dive on how to best introduce or enhance the use of data in decision-making.