PCAOB’s Jurata, Zietsman to resign as transition continues

By Ken Tysiac

PCAOB members Rebekah Goshorn Jurata and Megan Zietsman will resign from the board on the earlier of Oct. 1 or the date of appointment of new board members, according to a joint statement they released Monday.

Their statement continues a transition for the PCAOB that began in June when the SEC removed from the board William Duhnke III, who had been the board’s chair. At that time, the SEC announced its intent to seek candidates for all five positions on the board, including one that had been vacant since early 2021.

Jurata and Zietsman said in their statement that neither of them applied to be considered by the SEC for the board seats they currently hold.

“We will leave the PCAOB with pride at having been involved in significant efforts and accomplishments, and we have nothing but respect for the important work we know the staff will continue to perform,” they said in the statement. “It has also been an honor for us to serve alongside one another — the first time the PCAOB has had two female board members.”

Duane DesParte is serving as acting chair of the PCAOB.

Ken Tysiac (Kenneth.Tysiac@aicpa-cima.com) is the JofA’s editorial director.

Where to find May’s flipbook issue

The Journal of Accountancy is now completely digital. 





Leases standard: Tackling implementation — and beyond

The new accounting standard provides greater transparency but requires wide-ranging data gathering. Learn more by downloading this comprehensive report.