Award recognizes outstanding performance on CPA Exam

Eighty-nine CPA candidates received the 2020 Elijah Watt Sells Award for outstanding performance on the CPA Exam. To qualify for the award, candidates must have obtained a cumulative average score above 95.50 across all four sections of the Exam, passed all four sections on their first attempt, and completed testing in 2020. Nearly 75,000 individuals sat for the CPA Exam in 2020.

Established in 1923, the award is named in honor of Sells, one of the first CPAs in the United States, who was active in establishing the AICPA and played a key role in advancing professional education within the profession.

To view a list of the 2020 winners, visit

Where to find March’s flipbook issue

The Journal of Accountancy is now completely digital. 





Get Clients Ready for Tax Season

This comprehensive report looks at the changes to the child tax credit, earned income tax credit, and child and dependent care credit caused by the expiration of provisions in the American Rescue Plan Act; the ability e-file more returns in the Form 1040 series; automobile mileage deductions; the alternative minimum tax; gift tax exemptions; strategies for accelerating or postponing income and deductions; and retirement and estate planning.